fbpx

Shares

Pinterest: How to Delete Your Pinterest Account | Step-by-Step Instructions

What is Pinterest?

Pinterest is an online image sharing and social media platform where users share ideas and interests.

Pinterest is  a digital bulletin board, similar to a scrap book. Users find ideas online and ‘pin’ the images and associated website links to personal boards. In addition to creating personal boards, users can search for other ideas, images, articles and video ‘pins’ on other people’s boards. Pinterest is a way to connect and share ideas, find inspiration, and meet others with similar passions.

Pinterest on an iPad

Anyone can search for topics of interest on the Pinterest site, but in order to view the “pin” details and fully experience what the site has to offer, users are encouraged to create a Pinterest account.

The downside of having a social media account is the vulnerability of exposing your personal information to possible cybercrime or identity theft. There are also websites that collect and sell your information putting you at risk for identity theft. To help you identify these websites, Optery offers you scan and removal for your exposed private information. We cover more than 200 sites and other websites where you find your information exposed. You can sign up for a free Exposure Scan and tools you can use to remove your information, or you can upgrade to our paid subscription and let our Opt out Agents help you with the removal.

Bonus tip: Optery recently launched Optery for Business. For business owners who want to cover the removal of their employees personal information from the internet. Optery for Business uses advanced technology to locate information that benefits both business owners – to reduce risk of online phishing and hacking of sensitive information, and employees – for personal safety from identity theft that might be used to put the business at risk. Sign up now!

How do I Deactivate or Delete my Pinterest Account?

Pinterest allows you to permanently delete your account, or temporarily deactivate your account.

Deactivating your Pinterest account will hide your profile and pins from others until you reactivate it. Your account profile and personal information will remain on the site. Follow the steps below to deactivate your Pinterest account.

1) Go to the Pinterest website and log in to your account.

2) Click the arrow in the upper-right corner and choose Settings.

3) Click Account management from the navigation pane on the left. Scroll down to the Account changes section and click Deactivate account.

4) Click Continue. Pinterest will ask you why you are leaving the site. Choose an option and click Deactivate account.

Permanent account deletion will remove your Pinterest boards, pins, and profile. Follow the steps below to permanently delete your Pinterest account.

1) Go to the Pinterest website and log in to your account.

2) Click the arrow in the upper-right corner and choose Settings.

3) Click Account management from the navigation pane on the left. Scroll down to the Account changes section and click Delete account.

4) Click Continue. Pinterest will ask you why you are leaving the site. Choose an option and click Send email.

5) Check your email for a message from Pinterest.  Confirm you still want to permanently delete your account by clicking Yes, delete account.

It takes 14 days for your Pinterest account to be deleted permanently. If you change your mind within 14 days, and want to keep your account, log back into your Pinterest account. Pinterest will send you an email for account reactivation.

Ready to Remove Your Info from Google and the Internet?

Free Tools + Paid Plans starting at $9.99/mo. 220 sites covered. 30-Day Money Back Guarantee!