fbpx

Shares

Facebook: How to Delete Your Facebook Account | Step-by-Step Instructions

What is Facebook?

Facebook is a social media platform that connects family, friends, and communities that share the same interest. Over the years, the platform has become diverse in that it opened to entrepreneurs, advertisers, job hunters, hobbyists, and even interactive games.

Facebook has been involved in various data security breach issues in the past that put millions of people at risk. If you decide to delete your Facebook account, read our step-by-step process below.

How to Delete Your Facebook Account

Because of data security issues at Facebook and elsewhere, your personal information is exposed to websites that sell it. Things like your details like name, address, and phone number are sold on Data Broker Sites and People Search Sites. This can put you at risk for identity theft. To help you identify these websites, Optery offers you scan and removal for your exposed private information. We cover more than 200 sites websites where you find your information exposed. You can sign up for a FREE account which gives you continuous Exposure Scanning. You can also choose to upgrade to our PAID subscription and let our Opt Out Team handle the removals on your behalf.

Bonus tip: Optery recently launched Optery for Business. For business owners who want to cover the removal of their employees personal information from the internet. Optery for Business uses advanced technology to locate information that benefits both business owners – to reduce risk of online phishing and hacking of sensitive information, and employees – for personal safety from identity theft that might be used to put the business at risk. Sign up now!


How do I Delete My Facebook Account Manually?

Before you delete your Facebook account, you should log in and download a copy of your data, which includes your photos and posts. You can also use your Facebook account to access and manage your Oculus account. However, after you’ve deleted your account, you won’t be able to access all of your settings.

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

1) Log in to your facebook account.

2) On your main profile, click the profile image located at the top right. Select ‘Settings & privacy’ and click ‘Settings’.

3) On the left side, click ‘Your Facebook Information‘ and select the ‘Deactivation and Deletion‘ option located on the right side.

4) Choose to the ‘Deactivate Account’ and click “Continue to Account Deletion

5) Provide your password and click the “Continue” button.

6) Specify the reason for your deactivation and proceed to click the ‘Deactivate’ button.

7) An on screen notification will pop up. Click the ‘Deactivate now’ button.

8) A notification message will appear to confirm successful deactivation of your facebook account.

How to Delete Facebook Account Permanently

1) Log in to your facebook account.

2) On your main profile, click the profile image located at the top right. Select ‘Settings & privacy’ and click ‘Settings’.

3) On the left side, click Your Facebook Information and select the Deactivation and Deletion option located on the right side.

How to Delete Your Facebook Account.

4) Choose to the ‘Deactivate Account’ and click “Continue to Account Deletion

How to Delete Your Facebook Account.

5) Before deleting your account, you have an option to download your information such as your post and photos by clicking the “Download info” button. Else, you can proceed on deleting your account and hit the “Delete account” button.

How to Delete Your Facebook Account.

6) Provide your password and click the “Continue” button.

7) An on screen notification will appear, click the ‘Delete account’ button.

Note: At some point that you decided to keep your facebook account, you can cancel your account deletion if it’s been less than 30 days. Just log in and click on the ‘Cancel Deletion’ button.

Ready to Remove Your Info from Google and the Internet?

Free Tools + Paid Plans starting at $9.99/mo. 220 sites covered. 30-Day Money Back Guarantee!